GLAHW Member, Ken MacGregor had a brilliant idea for 2013’s Monster Mash for Literacy Bash  – raffle off the opportunity for the winner’s name to become the sole theme of a future Anthology. Several brave souls went into the hat and one emerged victorious.

Thus, Recurring Nightmares was born, and GLAHW is proud to announce the debut of our new series.

Le Blurb:

Seven horror writers are gifted the name of a real person and told to do whatever they want to her. In the seven resulting short stories,  Amanda is tortured, terrified and made monstrous; she is killed at least once. She won the right to have this done – and the writers couldn’t wait to unleash their imaginations on Amanda
Welcome to the inaugural edition of Recurring Nightmares, the Special Raffle Prize of the annual Monster Mash for Literacy Bash thrown by the Great Lakes Association of Horror Writers (GLAHW) benefiting the Dominican and Siena Literacy Organizations in Detroit. 
These are Amanda’s nightmares. We hope they become  yours, too.
Le Cover – done by the ever clever Ron Maxwell
Amanda's Recurring Nightmares Cover Artwork © Ron Maxwell

Amanda’s Recurring Nightmares
Cover Artwork © Ron Maxwell


  1. “Itch” by Sean M. Davis
  2. “Professional Scare Standards” by Michael Cieslak
  3. “Bargain” by MontiLee Stormer
  4. “Wildflower” Justin Holley
  5. “Come Out to Black Lake” by Nicole Castle
  6. “Drinks and a Show” by Ken MacGregor
  7. “The Stone Baby” by Robert C. Eccles

Now available in paperback from, Powell’s Books, and Barnes & Noble